East Anglian Greyhound Derby

The last four winners of the East Anglian Greyhound Derby

Whilst not as prestigious as the Greyhound Derby itself, the East Anglian Greyhound Derby is still considered to be one of the best four-bend races on the calendar, with a top-class field making their way to Yarmouth each and every September in a bid to take home the £10,000 prize purse. 

Raced over 462m, the East Anglian Greyhound Derby often attracts dogs that contested the Derby earlier in the season. So, it’s no surprise really that punters make their way to sites like Betdaq to check out the latest odds and tips as the countdown to the race begins. 

So, with just over a month to go until the latest renewal of the Category 1 race, let’s take a look back at the last four winners of the East Anglian Greyhound Derby. Read on to find out more!

2020: Kilara Lion

2020 was a fantastic year for trainer Patrick Janssens, with seven major race victories, and Kilara Lion’s triumph in the East Anglian Greyhound Derby only helped spur him on as he was crowned the Trainer of the Year for the first time — ending Mark Wallis’ eight-year reign. With Levante Beach, the ante-post favourite, missing the break, the race was blown wide open. Droopys Carat took the lead at the first bend, but swayed wide around the second, leaving the door open for Kilara Lion to close some ground, and with another wide bend at the third, the two-year-old took up pole position, going on to win by two and three-quarter lengths. 

2019: Roxholme Nidge

Roxholme Nidge headed into the 2019 renewal of the East Anglian Derby as the unsurprising favourite, and he duly delivered at Yarmouth for Hayley Keightley, who landed her first victory in the £15,000 race in the process. A three-time Category 1 winner, having won the Romford Puppy Cup and two Steel City Cups, Roxholme Nidge certainly didn’t lack any experience, and it showed in the race. A good break from the traps resulted in the dog taking the lead at the first bend, and he held onto that lead for the rest of the race to win rather comfortably. 

2018: Affane Party

In similar fashion to Roxholme Nidge’s victory in 2019, Affane Party broke out of the stalls at rapid speed and had established a lead by the first bend. The 9/4 shot set the pace for the remainder of the race, with none of the other greyhounds able to even get sniff of the John Lambe-trained dog. Seaglass Phantom was a couple of lengths behind in second. 

“I knew he had been running so well in this event that tonight I had every bit of confidence he would set an attacking pace from the outset,” the Perry Barr-based trainer said afterwards.

“This is my first East Anglian derby event entered and now first win. In fact, I have only had a handful of category one entries to date, but what an event to start me off.”

2017: Newinn Shadow

Charlie Lister is one of the most successful greyhound trainers in the United Kingdom, with some seven Greyhound Derby victories to his name. However, his roll of honours in this race is particularly impressive, as Newinn Shadow’s victory in 2017 took his tally of triumphs to 12! It was a straightforward victory for the dog, as he took an early lead and guided the rest of the field home, winning by three quarters of a length.