Wymondham Music Festival 2017

Wymondham Music Festival returns for its 22nd  year with a packed programme of open air events, recitals and concerts in the historic Norfolk market town. A 48-page booklet detailing the whole Festival programme is now available.

The annual Town Busking Day kicks off proceedings on Saturday, May 27 (11am-2pm).  Then there is a Market Place Music series, with live music on Saturdays June 3, 10 and 24 (11am-1pm). 

Festival Fortnight follows from Saturday, July 1 to Sunday, July 16. There’ll be more live music in the Market Place on Saturday, July 1 with Wymondham High Academy (11am-1pm), then Feathersfest takes over, rocking The Feathers pub until 11pm.

The Festival’s largest event, the Jazz Picnic is at Becketswell on Monday, July 3 (6.30pm-9pm) with Simon Nelson’s DixieMix, and the popular Teddy Bear’s Picnic for the under 5s will be at King’s Head Meadow on Sunday, July 9 (11am-1pm).

Wymondham Music Festival 2017
Jazz Picnic

The Vagaband’s brand of indie roots rock is at The Regal (Ex Services Club) on Sunday, July 2 (7.30pm). The Regal is also hosting a blues night with Robin Bibi and The Shunters on Thursday, July 13 (8pm). Arcelia bring their beautiful soulful folk to Central Hall on Friday, July 7 (8pm).

The Vagaband

Wymondham Abbey has a busy programme of concerts and recitals featuring Wymondham Symphony Orchestra’s Summer Concert, Saturday, July 1 (7.30pm), Lucy Thalange, Norfolk Young Musician 2017, Tuesday, July 4 (1pm)  Rachel Groves, harpist, Wednesday, July 5 (5.30pm), Jazz at The Abbey, Jo Fooks Quartet, Thursday, July 6 (7.30pm), Wymondham Youth Orchestra Summer Concert, Saturday, July 8 (7.30pm), Young Musicians’ Concert, Monday, July 10 (7pm), Alice  Godfrey & Rob Goodrich, Trumpet and Organ Recital, Tuesday, July 11 (5.30pm), Luca Luciano clarinet concert, Wednesday, July 12 (7.30pm), and Wymondham Choral Society Summer Concert, Saturday, July 15 (7.30pm).

Events at Wymondham Baptist Church include the annual Music Lecture & Recital on Tuesday, July 4 (7.30pm), featuring guitarist and luthier Peter Turrell; Massimo Redaelli Brown’s harpsichord recital on Sunday, July 9 (7.30pm), a ceilidh with Happy Feet Ceilidh Band on Saturday, July 15 (11am-1pm) and the family concert with The He Hews, which rounds off Festival Fornight on Sunday, July 16 (3pm).

The He Hews

Richard Elliott, Festival Chairman said, “We have superb menu of live local music and top artists from the national stage, to enjoy in Wymondham this summer. I would like to thank our volunteer team who make the Festival happen and for the support from our sponsors and patrons, which enables us to stage many free events and keep ticket prices at an accessible level.”

Keep in touch with Wymondham Music Festival at www.wymfest.org.uk, where you can buy concert tickets, as well as following the Festival on twitter and facebook. Puff’s Toyshop in Wymondham Market Place also sells concert tickets. For general enquiries, contact the Festival office on 01953 333500, [email protected].

SaveSave